Research project profile Big Data Innovation Center

Description

Due to the increasing collection of unstructured data (eg from social networks) and the high volume of data from the "Internet of Things IoT" environment with many data sources (including sensors), the challenges for the administration, storage and analysis of large amounts of data are growing be discussed under the term "Big Data".

The insights gained from the analysis of this data help companies to understand their customers better, to place products and services faster and more targeted in the right markets. The potentials of using big data technologies are very diverse due to the increasing digital transformation in companies.

The universities cooperating in the field of SAP use in teaching: Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg, University of Applied Sciences Dortmund, University Niederrhein have a cross-university Big Data Innovation Center (BDIC) to bundle the competences in this field.

The big data Innovation Center uses a common SAP BW on HANA system for:

  • Research
  • Teaching insert and
  • practical Projects

Researchers and partners


Publications



printed: 09/26/18  03:37

Forschungsprofil Big Data Innovation Center

Beschreibung

Durch die zunehmende Sammlung von unstrukturierten Daten (bspw. aus sozialen Netzwerken) und durch das hohe Datenaufkommen aus dem Umfeld „Internet of Things IoT“ mit vielen Datenquellen (u.a. Sensoren) wachsen die Herausforderungen zur Verwaltung, Speicherung und Analyse von großen Datenmengen, welche aktuell unter dem Begriff „Big Data“ diskutiert werden.

Die Erkenntnisse aus der Analyse dieser Daten unterstützen Unternehmen dabei ihre Kunden besser zu verstehen, Produkte und Services schneller und zielgerichteter in den passenden Märkten zu platzieren. Die Potentiale durch den Einsatz von Big Data Technologien sind aufgrund der zunehmenden digitalen Transformation in Betrieben sehr vielfältig.

Die im Bereich SAP-Einsatz in der Lehre kooperierenden Hochschulen: Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg, Fachhochschule Dortmund, Hochschule Niederrhein haben ein hochschulübergreifendes Big Data Innovation Center (BDIC) gegründet, um auch die Kompetenzen in diesem Bereich zu bündeln.

Das Big Data Innovation Center nutzt ein gemeinsames SAP BW on HANA System für:

  • Forschungen
  • Lehreinsatz und
  • Praxisprojekte

Forschende Personen und Partner


Veröffentlichungen



gedruckt am: 21.06.2018  17:52